Rarotonga Cruises

Highland Paradise Lost Village 
Takitumu Conservation Area 
Muri Lagoon

Find MSC World Cruise


Start planning your cruise and book your excursions to Rarotonga

Rarotonga, the largest of the South Pacific’s glorious Cook Islands, is surrounded by an extensive lagoon and reef. This MSC World Cruise destination is celebrated for its palm-fringed beaches, verdant rainforests, azure waters, and volcanic peaks.
MSC Cruises excursions offer plenty of exciting things to see including:
• Highland Paradise Lost Village 
• Takitumu Conservation Area 
• Muri Lagoon 
On an MSC Cruises excursion, you’ll immerse yourself in Rarotonga history when you visit a ‘lost city’ at the foot of Mount Maungaroa. The former home of a Cook Islands tribe, this historical site has been remarkably transformed. Now known as Highland Paradise, you’ll be welcomed with a karakia, a traditional Rarotongan celebration. Next, listen to a guide recount the legends and spiritual beliefs of the island’s warriors before visiting village dwellings, former battlegrounds, and places of worship.
Nature enthusiasts will be in their element on an MSC Cruises excursion. At Takitumu Conservation Reserve, you’ll admire the Rarotonga Monarch — also known as the Rarotonga flycatcher or Kakerori bird. A fascinating tour provides further insight into the habitat of this marvellous little creature. You’ll also learn about indigenous plants that thrive in the Cook Islands as your guide walks your through the tropical rainforest.
The Muri Lagoon, admired for its crystal blue waters and beautiful atolls, makes an unmissable MSC Cruises excursion. Here, you’ll get the chance to enjoy swimming and snorkelling in a stunning marine ecosystem, teeming with colourful tropical fish and gorgeous coral gardens. Unwind on the beach, savour a fruit refreshment, or watch a traditional dance performance. If you like, you can take a glass-bottom boat across the lagoon or learn the art of coconut-husking!

Must see places in Rarotonga

Discover our excursions

    Cook Island

    On the Coral Route
    On the Coral Route

    The Cook Islands, made up of fifteen islands with strong ties to New Zealand, have been a tourist destination since the 1950s.

    The result of the irrepressible force of ancient volcanoes, they mostly consist of paradisiacal coral atolls that protect tranquil lagoons. Some of the islands are so small, such as Takutea or Suwarrow, which they can only be protected nature reserves, uninhabited or almost; others are large enough to accommodate thousands of people, although many emigrated to New Zealand during the Twentieth century.
    The MSC World Cruise stops at Rarotonga, the largest and most populated island, home to the capital of the Cook Islands: Avarua. 

    Aitutaki is one of the dream islands where hundreds of newlyweds decide to spend their honeymoons, or even marry there. Palm trees, turquoise water and white sand: the Cook Islands are the stuff that dreams are made of. Although known and colonised by people coming from Asia hundreds of years before the arrival of European navigators, these islands are named after the British Explorer James Cook, who visited them aboard two sailing ships during the 18th century.